Horror

Friday – 27 Jamadi us Sani 1428 – 23 Asadha 1929 – 13 July 2007

So, today, it is Friday the 13th. Which, in western traditions means a day of horror. And, for me it is the day when my father flies into Karachi to spend the weekend with us.

And the horror bit comes in where my life for the next three days when my father is here is like a train completely out of control and hurtling down a steep incline. That is covered with oil. With wind coming down the incline as well. You get the idea. I can see a lot of things happening over the next couple of days that I do not want to happen but I have no control over and will end up happeneing anyways.

My father has recently been to Islamabad to meet an old friend. Here he has actually ‘found’ a girl for me. His friends daughter. Who I know since we were kids. And who I am supposed to get married to since all the parents think it is a good idea. This seems to be the most opportune moment to scream loudly and rip apart my voice box.

It is also probably the day when my father and I have to discuss my homosexuality in the general context of how I need to start thinking about women because then I would naturally become straight and enjoy a good settled married life. Of course this reminds me of the time an idiot friend of mine showed me a Playboy just to make me straight. I hate stupid straight men. But, I have to live with them.

So basically I will have to come out to my father, who is a policemen and would definitely find the idea of a fruitcake son very very unacceptable and I will have to say yes to getting married.

And, finally, OH MY GOD I AM GOING TO GET MARRIED!

So, basically all men freak out when they think about marriage.

A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A A

4 Comments»

  marsha loftis wrote @

maybe it won’t be so bad…there are a few good things about being married.

  marsha loftis wrote @

maybe it won’t be so bad…there are a few good things about being married…1. on cold nights you have someone to cuddle with. 2. you can stop playing “solitaire” and play “go fish” instead. 3. you don’t have to cook dinner every night. 4. better birthday presents….and the list could go on and on. :)

  faraz wrote @

OMG , really ,
Congratulations!!!

  navcity wrote @

So what happened?!


Leave a Reply

